Wood quality norms
The following pages are not the official rules for timber grading, but summaries that are provided for reference only.
Though they were produced to the best of our knowledge, we shall bear no liability for any omission, error or translation inaccuracy that they might contain.
To consult the official grading rules you should always contact the Associations, Councils or other institutions responsible for them. Whenever possible we provide links to the websites of these institutions.
European grading rules for sawn oak
European grading rules for sawn beech
European grading rules for sawn poplar
Softwood sawn timber / European, French rules (CTBA)
Nordic softwood grading rules / Blue book
North American hardwood (NHLA)
North American softwood (NLGA)
African and South American sawn timber (SATA)
Asian sawn timber (MGR)